We have arrived.

It was a long but uneventful trip from Omaha to Athens.  Imagine a long trip involving several packed airplanes: that’s what it was like.

Image

Pro tip: pre-order a “special” meal when you’re on long flights.  Your food will almost always be better!  I asked for vegetarian meals (including cheese) on the long flight between Minneapolis and Amsterdam, and enjoyed better, fresher food than was available for the folks around me.  A big thumbs up to Delta; the hot food was hot! and the cold food was cold!, the movie and TV selection was actually a little too good, and the stewards were unrelentingly pleasant.   I’m looking back to more of the same when I return to Omaha.

No photo available for this part, but I have to say also that the airport in Amsterdam was enjoyable too.  Some of us walked around a bit before our flight to Athens began boarding, and we found a lovely area – I think it was for kids – that had lots of (real) green plants and piped in birdsong.  Interactive science displays alternated with full-length lounge chairs.  If we hadn’t been close to boarding, I would have taken a nap – embarrassment at sleeping in public be damned!  I was exhausted and it would have been lovely.  But too soon it was time to leave for Athens.

We arrived at about 1:00 pm local time (8 hours ahead of Nebraska time).  Here’s a pic of my room at Areos Hotel – I’m sharing with two lovely ladies.

Image

We’re right smack in the middle of Athens, as you can see from the balcony view.

Traffic noise is complimentary!

Traffic noise is complimentary!

Also seen from the balcony, within seconds of arrival: my first Greek cats!  This isn’t the greatest pic, but consider it a record of that moment.  More to come on the Athens dogs and cats (don’t worry, it’s good news).

Image

I had gotten no sleep on the plane(s), and once we settled into our room I decided that I would do best to rest, rather than going out with the others to see the area around the University.  I know, lame, but there it is.  Thus ends my first day in Greece!

2 thoughts on “We have arrived.

Comments are closed.